Sebastian Page

Launched in 1996, Asian Television Awards is the Asian TV industry’s most significant and celebrated event, recognising excellence in programming, production and performance.

The ceremony will take place in Singapore on December 2. It will be hosted by Adrian Pang, Stephanie Carrington, Alden Richards, and Baki Zainal, with performances by JJ Lin, Charli XCX, Ivy Grace, Amber Liu and Rossa Roslina.

The award categories include ‘Best Drama Series’, ‘Best Actor in a Supporting Role’, ‘Best Actress in a Supporting Role’, ‘Best Actor in a Leading Role’, Best Actress in a Leading Role’, ‘Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/Actress’ and more.

KBS drama Descendants of the Sun, starring Song Joong Ki and Song Hye Kyo as Yoo Si Jin and Kang Mo Yeon respectively, has been nominated in the ‘Best Drama Series’. The Korean drama follows the love story between a surgeon and Special Forces officer.

The remaining six titles nominated for ‘Best Drama Series’ includes 4 from Mediacorp – Channel 5 series The Hush, Channel 8 series The Journey: Our Homeland and The Dream Makers 2 as well as Suria series Bingit 3. HBO series Halfworlds and TBS series Downtown Rocket complete the list.

‘Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/Actress’ sees 6 nominees including Filipino Michael V – a recurring nominee for the category, who was also nominated last year, Hong Kong actress Bernice Liu, and Singapore based Carla Dunareanu as well as Alaric Tay who won highly recommended for the same award in 2011.

‘Best Actor in a Supporting Role’ sees 8 nominees in total including last year’s host Max Loong and Pierre Png who won best actor in 2014 for his work in Zero Calling.

‘Best Actress in a Supporting Role’ sees 6 nominees including Singapore artist Julie Tan for her portrayal of Dong Zihuai in the year-end Mediacorp blockbuster The Dream Makers 2.

‘Best Actor in a Leading Role’ sees 6 nominees hailing from Malaysia, Taiwan, Singapore and Thailand. Actor, screenwriter, director and producer Bront Palarae is nominated for his work on Eropah, Here I Am. Also from Malaysia is Frederick Lee for his leading role in Turning Point. Singapore’s Christopher Lee is also in the list based on his performance in Crescendo.

Last but not least, ‘Best Actress in a Leading Role’ sees 7 nominees from Taiwan, Thailand, Singapore and Hong Kong. Kristal Tin is nominated for her portrayal of May Suen Suk-Mui in the Hong Kong romantic-comedy Ghost of Relativity, which she had also won four other awards from three separate ceremonies. Media Prima artiste Jojo Goh snags a place for her work in the telemovie The Love Machine.

Check back in to Asia Pop 40 after the event for a full report on the night including performances and winners! It’s sure to be an amazing event!